Module 1 -Lesson 4- Australia’s states and territories

There are six states and two mainland territories in Australia. New South Wales (Sydney), Victoria (Melbourne), Queensland (Brisbane), Western Australia (Perth), South Australia (Adelaide), and Tasmania (Hobart) are the states. Australian Capital Territory (Canberra) and Northern Territory (Darwin) are the two territories.

New South Wales was the first colony established by the British: its main city, Sydney, is Australia’s biggest, and it is famous across the globe for the magnificent Sydney Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge. Victoria is the smallest state on the Australian mainland, with Melbourne as its capital city. It is famous for its excellent architecture, which was supported by the gold rush of the 1850s, as well as the 12 Apostles, the Royal Exhibition Building, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground. Queensland is Australia’s second biggest state, with Brisbane as its capital city. To the east of the state is the world-famous Great Barrier Reef, while to the north are the Torres Strait Islands. The state has a diverse climate, with a fairly arid interior and tropical coast.

Western Australia is Australia’s biggest state, with Perth as its capital. The state’s eastern region is mostly desert, with substantial farmland and viniculture in the south-west. Mining is one of the state’s key industries. The Margaret River area, the Kimberley region, and the Ningaloo Coast are all famous for their natural beauty. South Australia, whose capital is Adelaide, is well-known for its wine industry and rocky coastline characteristics. It is well-known for its mountains, the Flinders Ranges, and the wine-growing Barossa Valley.

READ  Life in Australia

Tasmania, an island across the Bass Strait with a capital city in Hobart, is Australia’s smallest state. The Bay of Fires, Port Arthur, and Cradle Mountain are among the state’s most famous natural wonders.

Canberra, Australia’s capital, is located in the Australian Capital Territory, halfway between Melbourne and Sydney. Canberra is home to several national institutions, including the Australian parliament and the High Court of Australia. The Northern Territory, which has its capital in Darwin, is made up of arid red desert to the south and tropical climate to the north. It is home to one of Australia’s most famous natural wonders, the sandstone monolith of Uluru.


Module 1 - Lesson 4 Quiz

1 / 18

The capital city of Queensland is ______________?

2 / 18

The smallest mainland state in Australia is __________________?

3 / 18

Tasmania is separated from mainland Australia by the ______________?

4 / 18

The capital city of the Australian Capital Territory is ______________?

5 / 18

Australia’s parliament is located in _______________?

6 / 18

The largest state in Australia is _______________?

7 / 18

The capital city of Tasmania is _______________?

8 / 18

The capital city of the Northern Territory is ______________?

9 / 18

South Australia is particularly famous for the production of ______________?

10 / 18

Western Australia is particularly noted for its ____________________?

12 / 18

The capital city of Victoria is _____________?

13 / 18

The capital city of Western Australia is ____________?

14 / 18

The capital city of South Australia is _____________?

15 / 18

The Great Barrier Reef runs along the east coast of the state of _________________?

16 / 18

The smallest state in Australia is _______________?

17 / 18

The capital city of New South Wales is ______________?

18 / 18

The famous geographical feature of Uluru is in _____________?

Your score is

The average score is 91%


Rate this post
Visited 1,040 times, 1 visit(s) today

Leave a Reply

Leave a comment


CitizenshipTests aims to provide free online Australian Citizenship test Practice questions and answers for passing the real test. We collect data from official resources and also collect data that is not easily available on the internet.